DUI Accident Lawyers in Martinsburg, WV, Representing Clients Charged With DUI-Related Accidents
You must hire legal representation immediately if you have been arrested and charged with a DUI-related accident. West Virginia has strict laws that deal with drivers who have caused accidents while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A DUI conviction can result in you having to pay steep fines, lose your driver’s license, and possibly time in jail. Additionally, if anyone were injured due to a DUI-related accident, you could face a civil lawsuit from the injured party.
Contact Hinkle Law, PLLC of Martinsburg, WV, and ask to schedule a free no-obligation consultation with a qualified legal team member who can evaluate your case and determine the best strategy moving forward.
Can I Receive Jail Time if I Caused a DUI Accident?
West Virginia has strict penalties in place that deal with individuals who have been convicted of a DUI. They include:
- First DUI Offense: One day to 6 months in jail, a fine ranging between $100 to $500, and a revocation of the individual’s driver’s license for a period of 6 months.
- Second DUI Offense: If an individual commits a second DUI within 10 years of their first offense, they face 6 months to one year in jail, a fine ranging between $1,000 to $3,000, and revocation of their driver’s license for 10 years.
- Third DUI Offense: Any individual who commits a third or subsequent DUI within 10 years of other previous DUI offenses faces between one and three years in prison, a fine ranging between $3,000 to $5,000, and their driver’s license will be revoked for the rest of their life.
Individuals who have been charged with a DUI-related accident should be aware that the charge can be upgraded to an aggravated DUI if the following factors exist:
- Injury or death was caused by the DUI
- Minors were present in the vehicle
- DUI while driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license.
Is it Better to Plead Guilty to a DUI Then Fight it in Court?
Many clients wonder if they would do just as well to plead guilty to a DUI to avoid what they perceive to be the legal hassles of the legal system. However, when you plead guilty, you are doing yourself a great disservice as you lose your right to a DUI defense and to possibly have your case negotiated by your attorney.
Moreover, if you plead guilty to a DUI-related accident case, you open yourself up to a lawsuit from the accident victims that could prove quite costly, especially if death or injury were involved. Even in a DUI accident case, a skilled attorney may be able to analyze all of the evidence the state has against you to reduce your charges and avoid potential jail time.
Our DUI accident lawyers have comprehensive knowledge of West Virginia law and will work diligently to obtain an outcome that is favorable to you.
Can I Still Drive After a DUI Arrest?
After a DUI accident, you may still be able to drive, but most likely for a limited amount of time. The Division of Motor Vehicles will send a letter that advises you of a proposed revocation of your license. You must then file legal documents to request a hearing on the proposed revocation. The Office of Administrative Hearings will issue a final order either suspending your license or allowing you to continue to drive.
The DUI lawyers of Hinkle Law, PLLC, can assist you in understanding how the Office of Administrative Hearings goes about the process of determining if you should be allowed to retain your driving privileges.
How Can Your Law Firm Help Me After a DUI Accident Arrest?
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI accident, you need strong legal representation who will not be afraid to fight for your rights. Our DUI attorneys have extensive experience in negotiating with prosecutors to help minimize some of the potential penalties you may be facing. Our law firm is firmly committed to helping individuals charged with DUI protect their future.
Contact Hinkle Law, PLLC, by calling 304-885-1643 and ask to schedule a free consultation to learn how we may be able to help you.