Underage DUI Lawyers in Hagerstown, WV, Advocating Zealously On Behalf of Minors
If you or a family member has been charged with an underage DUI, you are, without a doubt, frightened and anxious about what the future holds. Any criminal charge related to a DUI in West Virginia is a serious offense and should not be taken lightly, and an offender could face jail time. Additionally, an underage DUI conviction can result in a permanent criminal record for the underage offender and potentially facing disciplinary action at school or not being allowed to enroll in the college of their choice.
For these reasons, you must hire an experienced underage DUI lawyer who can fight to protect your rights and freedom. Contact Hinkle Law, PLLC of Hagerstown, WV, and ask to schedule a free case review with a qualified legal team member immediately.
What Penalties Do Underage DUI Offenders Face?
Under West Virginia law, any individual under the age of 21 who is caught drinking and driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent will automatically lose their license for 6 months. If your BAC registers that of .05 or greater, the offender will be required to attend a substance course before their license can be reinstated. Additionally, officers have the right to administer a breath test to any individual under the age of 21 if they suspect they have been drinking.
Furthermore, an underage offender can face a potential fine of $25 to $100 and a mandatory 6 months of an ignition interlock device which can be quite costly. Therefore, in cases of underage DUI, it pays to have a skilled attorney on your side to provide you with a robust legal defense.
Can Underage Drivers Who Are Arrested Receive Additional Charges?
If any driver is found to be operating a motor vehicle while driving under the influence with a child under the age of 16, the penalties may include fines of $200 to $1,000 and two days to 12 months in jail for child endangerment.
Some other possible charges include:
- Minor in possession
- Soliciting alcohol
- Distribution of alcohol to other minors
- Possession of false identification if used to purchase alcohol.
Can an Underage DUI Be Expunged in West Virginia?
If an offender can successfully complete the West Virginia DUI Deferral Program may be eligible to have their arrest and subsequent records expunged. The prosecution authority has 30 days from the date of the expunction motion to respond in writing if they object to the petition.
If there is no objection to the order of expunction, the clerk of the court where the offense occurred will destroy the arrest record and fingerprint card from the database.
Some of the other conditions that apply to an expunction include:
- Not violating any of the terms and conditions of the Interlock Installation agreement
- An individual is only eligible once in an offender’s lifetime.
- No subsequent violations while the deferral program is in progress.
One of the benefits of having an experienced underage DUI lawyer is they can guide you through the entire process of trying to have your record expunged. Contact Hinkle Law, PLLC, and ask how our experienced legal professionals may be able to assist you.
Why Should I Have an Underage DUI Assist Me With My Case?
One of the essential components of a criminal case is having a knowledgeable attorney on your side. If you or a family member has been charged with an underage DUI, you must obtain legal representation immediately so your attorney can begin to build a defense on your behalf.
The attorneys of Hinkle Law, PLLC, have vast experience handling underage DUI cases and are well-qualified to negotiate on your behalf. One of the most important aspects of DUI defense is assisting clients in being able to retain their driving privileges. Our attorneys are passionately committed to helping clients through this challenging time in their life.
If you are facing an underage DUI charge contact Hinkle Law, PLLC of Hagerstown, West Virginia by calling 240-226-3313 to learn more information about how we may be able to help you.